copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
info@nafplio-tour.gr
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Palamidi
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
Bourtzi
The Arvanitia Promenade
Psaromachalas
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
Karathona
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space

The Three Admirals’ Square


Trion Navarchon Square, the Square of the Three Admirals, is dedicated to the memory of the admirals: Kodrington of England; Derigny of France and Hayden of Russia, who fought the Turko-Egyptian fleet in the sea battle of Navarone on the 8th October 1827. The square was constructed in the time of the governor of Greece, Ioannis Kapodistrias, by the civil engineer Stamatis Voulgaris, and includes many interesting buildings and monuments. In the middle of the square is the funeral monument containing the remains of Dimitrios Ypsilandis, one of the leaders of the Greek revolution. Ypsilandis, who died as the result of a chronic hereditary illness at the age of 40, was originally buried in the narthex of the church of Aghios Georgios. However, in 1843 the remains were re-buried, during an official ceremony, in this monument, which was created in Vienna, following a commission by his brother, Georgios Ypsilandis. There are many splendid neo-classical buildings in the square, among which the building which today houses the town hall stands out. Next to this, at 32 Vasileos Konstadinou Street, is the pharmacy which belonged to the Italian Philhellene, Bonifatsio Bonafin, who embalmed the body of the murdered governor, Ioannis Kopadistrias. Behind the monument to Ypsilandis, in the western section of the square, one can see the statue of the first king of Greece, Otto, the second son of Ludwig I of Bavaria. The young king arrived in Nafplio on 25th January 1833, and remained in the city for a short while until 1834. More or less on the site where the statue of Otto now stands, between Vasileos Konstadinou and Amalia’s Street, there was once one of the most important buildings in Nafplio, the Governor’s Mansion, otherwise known as ‘the Palataki’, or ‘little palace’ which was destroyed by fire in 1929. The Governor’s Mansion was built in 1829, exactly 100 years before it was destroyed. It was designed by the Italian architect, Pasquale Ippoliti, for the offices of the then newly-formed government and the residence of the first governor of Greece, Ioannis Kapodistrias. The construction was paid for by the governor himself, with some help from donations from Greek expatriates. Both its exterior and interior had an air of austerity. It was a neo-classical building with emphasis on the horizontal axis. The interior was noticeable for the sparseness of furnishings, following instructions from the governor himself. When Kapodistrias was murdered, it was here, in the central hall, that the embalmed body was placed for public viewing. When the young king Otto came to Nafplio, he also resided in the Governor’s Mansion. It was then re-named the ‘Royal Palace’; but to the ordinary people it was the ‘Palataki’, or little palace; the name by which it is still known today.