copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
info@nafplio-tour.gr
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Palamidi
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
Bourtzi
The Arvanitia Promenade
Psaromachalas
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
Karathona
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space

The Monastery of Aghia Moni


The Monastery of Aghia Moni is close to the suburb of Areia, 3 kilometres north east of Nafplio. The Katholicon of the Monastery dates from around the middle of the 12th century and since 1875 has been dedicated to Zoodochos Pighi, literally, ‘the source of life’. It is one the most important churches of the middle Byzantine period and is in excellent condition. According to its foundation inscription, which was inlaid into the exterior wall to the right of the main entrance, the church was built with donations from the Bishop of Argos and Nafplio, Leo, who had it constructed in 1149. The church is mainly of architectural interest, as the original paintings and decorations have not survived. The architectural type of church is a cross-in-square of the four columned type with dome; and forms, along with other churches of 12th and 13th century Argolis, a special group in the Greek school of Architecture. The other churches, which are within a short distance on the Argolian Plane are: The Dormition of the Virgin in the village of Chonika; Aghia Sotira in Plataniti and The Dormistion of the Virgin in the village of Merbakas or Aghia Triada. Just outside the grounds of the monastery is the monastic spring, which is famous for its water. Some identify this spring with the ancient Kanathos, which was mentioned by the 2nd century AD traveller Pausanias. Today, the Monastery of Aghia Moni is a women’s retreat and is under the auspices of Bishopric of Argolis.