copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
info@nafplio-tour.gr
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Palamidi
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
Bourtzi
The Arvanitia Promenade
Psaromachalas
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
Karathona
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space

The Church of Aghios Nikolaos


The church of Aghios Nikolaos, the patron saint of sailors, was built next to the port, in one of the most beautiful parts of the city. According to the inscription on the foundation stone, the church of Aghios Nikolaos was moved from inside the walled city to the shore on the wishes of the Venetian superintendent of the fleet Agostino Sagredo, in 1713. Sagredo chose this site, outside the city walls and next to the sea, as the church was dedicated to sailors. The modern church of Aghios Nikolaos must be more recent and was consecrated in 1836. The church is in the basilica style, with a flat roof, known as ‘the heavens’, which is common to Italian style churches. Today, it is well worth seeing the carved wooden chancel with its pulpit; the large despotic icons, which date from 1848 to 1849, as well as the central chandelier from Odessa and the bishop's throne. The façade and bell tower are later additions to the church.