copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
info@nafplio-tour.gr
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Palamidi
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
Bourtzi
The Arvanitia Promenade
Psaromachalas
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
Karathona
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space

PandesChurch of Aghii The


The historical church of Aghii Pandes, which is found in the Pronia suburb, on a side street off Michail Iatrou, is built in the natural rock of a small hill. Its existence is known from the time of the second Venetian occupation. In 1715, when Nafplio was invaded by the Turks for the second time, Aghii Pandes was the only church in which Christians were allowed to worship, until 1780, when worship was also allowed in Aghia Sophia, a church located inside the city walls. Surrounding the church was the old city graveyard, where several of the great personalities of the Greek revolution have been interred such as: Palaion Patron Germanos, Nikitaras and Staikos Staikopoulos. This graveyard was operational until about 1852, when the modern one was built. Today the visitor can see tombstones from the old graveyard in the floor of the church and the steps leading up to it.