copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
The Arvanitia Promenade
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space

The Church of Aghia Sophia

Climbing the steps from Lambrinidou Street in the picturesque Psaromachalas neighbourhood, one comes to one of the oldest surviving churches in the city, the small single nave domed chapel, which is consecrated to Aghia Sophia. It is not beyond the realms of possibility that its construction dates back to Byzantine times, if we judge from the architectural elements that have been constructed in the Byzantine style. When the Turks conquered the city in 1715, Christian churches were forbidden to operate within the walls of the city; the only church in which services were allowed was the church of Aghii Pantes, in the Pronia neighbourhood. Somewhere between 1779 and 1780, Hassan-Pasha granted Aghia Sophia the right to hold Christian services for Christians living within the walls, after the intervention of his Greek interpreter, Nicholas Mavrogenis. From then on, it was the only Christian church inside the walls that was allowed to hold services. After the liberation of Nafplio from the Turkish yoke, Aghia Sophia was renovated in 1825 with funds donated by the Provost Marshal of Nafplio, Nasos Photomaras.