copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
info@nafplio-tour.gr
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Palamidi
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
Bourtzi
The Arvanitia Promenade
Psaromachalas
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
Karathona
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space

The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'


This building, which is located behind the Parliament, dates from around the end of the 18th century and the beginning of the 19th, in other words, towards the end of the second Turkish occupation. It was built to house a Turkish religious school, known in Turkish as Medrese. It is a heavy and dark stone building, with arched arcades and an internal courtyard. One can make out at least two stages of building. The central part of the building, with its three arcades and tiled walls, belongs to the first phase, while the upper level of the towers and almost all the rear of the building, which have been built of unhewn stone and tiles, belong to the second phase. The archaeologist, Semni Karouzou believes that the repairs to the Medrese must have taken place at the same time as those that were carried out on the Parliament. When, in 1926, the prison on the Palamidi was closed, it was transferred here for a short while, which resulted in the building being known as the Leonardo Prison. Today, this building houses the restoration workshops and storage of the Archaeological Museum of Nafplio. Behind the Medrese, in Konstandinoupoleos Street, there is a two-storey building form the beginning of the 18th century, which, it is said, was the Venetian headquarters. After the occupation of the city by the Turks, it became the home of Aga-Pasha. During the Greek revolution, this building seems to have housed the executive, in other words the government of the rebellious nation, from 1824 to 1825.