copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
info@nafplio-tour.gr
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Palamidi
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
Bourtzi
The Arvanitia Promenade
Psaromachalas
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
Karathona
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space

The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum


The old railway station, simply known as ‘the station’ by the locals, is one of the most beautiful sites in the city and is on the boundary of the old city of Nafplio with the new. Until the beginning of the 18th century this area, which was outside the city walls, was flooded by the sea. Around 1720, during the 2nd Turkish occupation of Nafplio, the Turks reclaimed the land building banks which they landscaped with flower gardens and ‘golden pavilions’, designed for the Turkish agas. In 1884, the site was chosen for the building of the city’s railway station. The following year the buildings were completed and in 1886 the first regular service to Athens began. The service ran until 1963. 30 years later, in 1993, the line came back into service, but Nafplio station had been moved to the port. Today the site of the old station operates as a recreation area, with flowerbeds, old trains and a refreshment stand. The old station building now houses the municipal Odeon, ‘Konstantinos Nonis’, which makes an important contribution to the artistic life of the city. In the other building, which was the old station warehouse, the Peloponnesian Folk Art Foundation has created a museum space dedicated to children called ‘The Stathmos’. The exhibition that is located here deals with objects exclusively connected to children: their birth, baptism, school, and their games as both objects and activities. There are also figures from puppet shows and the famous Karagiozi shadow puppets. At the same time, ‘The Stathmos’ operates as a location for pioneering educational programmes. In the entrance to the museum there is an original toy-sculpture called ‘the Plagona’, or doll; the work of Maria Loizidou. The work is based on both ancient and medieval prototypes. The female form symbolises the mother god and has a large eye which watches and protects.