copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
The Arvanitia Promenade
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space

Old Town (general)

The Old or lower town extends north from the Acronauplia, from the old railway station to the bastion of ‘Pente Adelphia’ or the ‘five brothers’ and is essentially the historical centre of the modern city of Nafplio. Until 1470, the area was marshy and was flooded by the sea, with the exception of the Psaromachalas neighbourhood on the lower north-west slopes of the Acronauplia. Towards the end of the 15th century, at the time of the first Venetian occupation, it was decided to extend the city, using artificial sandbanks and foundations made of wooden poles. This area became known as the lower city, to distinguish it from the castle of the Acronauplia, which was on higher ground. It was surrounded by seaside walls which were re-enforced with bastions. The walls of the lower city began at the north eastern corner of the Castello di Toro and reached to the north to Kapodistrias Square. In the eastern wall, which was protected by a moat, was the Land Gate, the only entrance to the city from land. The north eastern corner of the wall was defended by a circular tower called Contarina. From here, the wall continued directly to the west, along the modern Amalia’s Avenue, to Aghios Nicholaos’ Square. The north wall had three gates, the central of which was the Porta del Mare. Following this, the walls continued in a north-westerly direction, forming a polygon. At the most northern point they formed the bastion of Santa Teresa which protected the Porta della Piazza. The bastion of Santa Teresa, which was renamed in the 19th century, the bastion of Moschos, was located between the customs house and the ‘Grande Bretagne’ hotel. The walls then continued to the South West, following the line of the hill of the Acronauplia until they reached the bastion of the five brothers and the Porta dei Forni further to the south, when they joined with the walls of the Roman castle on the Acronauplia. During the time of the first Turkish occupation the Turkish officers had their seraglios in the lower city. In 1702, during the second Venetian occupation, the Venetians began the building of the new East Wall with a new land gate. This wall was protected by the bastion of Grimani or San Antonio to the south and Dolfin or San Marko in place of the Contarina tower to the north. As the city extended beyond these seaside walls, an isolated bastion was built to the north. Originally it was known as Mocenigo or San Sebastiano, but it later became known as the Armoury Bastion. In 1713 the Sagredo Gate was built to the north of the Castello dei Grechi, to allow immediate troop access to the Acronauplia. The sea front water tank was also built at this time. With the passing of time, the banks of the lower town continued outside the northern wall in order to extend the area available for construction. Thus, at some point, it is not clear when, the Gialos neighbourhood was developed, now part of the parish of Aghios Nikolaos, and a fully developed suburb by the time of Otto. In the lower city one can see today various types of buildings from different periods. They are chiefly: early neo-classical from the times of Kapodistrias and Otto from 1828 to 1865; neo-classical from 1865 to 1920; and many ordinary homes with neo-classical influences. There are very few Turkish or Venetian homes. Generally the buildings have been repaired and altered, which makes it very difficult to determine the exact date of original construction. Changes in military technology lead to the systematic demolition of the walls of the lower city. This was started in 1866 and was completed in 1930. The only surviving bastion of the lower city’s defences is the ‘Five Brothers’.