copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
info@nafplio-tour.gr
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Palamidi
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
Bourtzi
The Arvanitia Promenade
Psaromachalas
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
Karathona
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space

The Church of Panaghia


The Church of Panaghia, consecrated to the Presentation of the Virgin Mary, is one of the oldest and most beautiful churches in the city. The original church, which dates from the 15th century, to the time of the first Venetian occupation, was smaller and belonged to the Orthodox Church. In around 1700, during the time of the second Venetian occupation, the church took its current form, a three-aisled basilica. The interior has a beautiful wooden chancel in the eptanisian style and was created in the 19th century. The pulpit and bishop’s throne are also in the same style. The narthex is a later addition, while the bell tower dates from 1907. The Church of Panaghia also celebrates the memory of Aghios Anastasios, the Patron Saint of the City. Every year, on 1st February, the saint’s feast day, there is a great procession of the icon of the protector of the city. Today, the Church of Panaghia, is a favourite pilgrimage site for visitors to the city and is well known for the procession which takes place on Good Friday, and winds through the narrow streets of Psaromachalas to the sounds of the choir chanting the eulogy.