copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
The Arvanitia Promenade
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space

Aghios Spyridon Square

From the small square of Aghios Spyridon one can see old houses from the 18th and 19th centuries, while on Kapodistriou Street there are two Turkish fountains, which bear inscriptions in Arabic. The inscription on the fountain opposite the church of Aghios Spiridonas tells us that the Turk, Aga Machmout, had this beautiful fountain built in 1734 to 1735 for horses to drink from. A little further to the side, opposite the entrance to the church, one can see the traces of what was once a Turkish hamam. The centre of the square is decorated with the bronze bust of the great Greek author and academic, Angelos Terzakis. Angelos Terzakis, one of the noblest figures of Greek literature, was born in Nafplio in 1907 and lived here for the first years of his life. His family home is at number 20 in the street that now bears his name. His father, Demetrios Terzakis, amongst various other things, was also Mayor of Nafplio. In 1916 the Terzakis family settled in Athens where young Angelos received a good education. His studies were in law, but his interests lay in literature. He is one of the most important representatives of the so-called ‘generation of the thirties’, which creatively renewed Greek literature. He wrote short stories, fiction, theatrical works and essays. Works that refer to his birthplace are the novel: ‘Princess Izabo’, his collections of short stories ‘Of Love and Death’ and ‘April’, as well as his theatrical work ‘Night in the Mediterranean’. Although he only lived in Nafplio to the age of 9, the city, with its urban environment and rich history, had a major effect on the inspiration of this great Greek author.