copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
info@nafplio-tour.gr
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Palamidi
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
Bourtzi
The Arvanitia Promenade
Psaromachalas
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
Karathona
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space

Philellinon Square


This square was once the site of the Venetian bastion of Santa Teresa, which was later renamed the bastion of Moschos, and was demolished in 1866. The monument to the Philhellenes, in other words the friends of Greece, which dominates the centre of the square, was competed in 1903, in memory of the French Philhellenes who fought and died for the liberation of Greece from the Turkish yoke during the Greek revolution. The monument, is in the form of a memorial stone made of grey marble, and is in the shape of an obelisk, a form highly popular at the time. It was designed in Paris, but constructed in Greece in the marble works of Ioannis Chaldoupis. On one side of the raised base of the obelisk there is a relief in white marble depicting the personalised forms of Greece and France, in the forms of Athena and Liberty respectively. On the eastern side of the base there is an inscription in memory of the great French Philhellenes: Field Marshall Meson, General Fabvier and Admiral Derigny, and all the French sailors and soldiers who fought for Greek indePentence. More recently, a bust was placed on the North West side of the square in the likeness of Mando Mavrogenous, a heroine of the Greek revoloution, who lived in Nafplio from 1824 to 1831. On the North East side of the square, in King Otto’s Street, there is an important two-storey neo-classical building from the 19th century, which belonged to the Iatrou family, who were well known benefactors to the city. The town hall was housed here from 1972 until its recent move to Trion Navarchon Square.