copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
info@nafplio-tour.gr
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Palamidi
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
Bourtzi
The Arvanitia Promenade
Psaromachalas
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
Karathona
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space

Pronia The Suburb


The Pronia suburb, which occupies the north-eastern slopes of the Palamidi hill, is of special importance because it constitutes the first organised refugee settlement in modern Greece. There is evidence of human occupation in the area from as far back as prehistoric times. In fact, in the area where the church of Evangelistria now stands, an important burial site was found that dates back to prehistoric and early historic times. It is known as ‘Lagoumia’. In later years, the site seems to have been inhabited from at least the 15th century, mainly by labourers. By the end of the 18th and the beginning of the 19th century, the area was deserted. Starting in 1822, when Nafplio was liberated from the Turks, a large number of refugees flooded into the city, chiefly from Crete. This created a major housing problem. In 1828, Ioannis Kapodistrias, the governor of Greece, together with the engineer, Stamatis Voulgaris, chose the Pronia area to create a new refugee settlement. It is said that Kapodistrias chose the name Pronia, from the Greek word pronoo, meaning to provide for, because the settlement provided a solution to the accommodation problem faced by the refugees. The town plan of the suburb was based on the hippodamian block system, with roads intersecting at right angles. The houses that Voulgaris designed were small, single-roomed and with a single sloping roof. As time passed, bigger, two-storey houses were built, mostly along the main artery of the suburb, 25th March Avenue. Pronia survives to a certain extent today, with its low buildings and small houses, which were the most characteristic of the Kapodistrian period. In Pronia’s central square, in June of 1832, the 4th National Congress met. They voted to recognise and confirm the choice of Otto as King of Greece. Two churches in the area are worthy of note: Aghia Triada, Pronia’s central church, on which construction began during the days of Ioannis Kapodistrias on the site of an older chapel; and Evaggelistria, which dominates the hill of the same name. The miraculous icon of the annunciation is kept in this church, and it attracts many pilgrims each year.