copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
The Arvanitia Promenade
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space


Psaromachalas, in other words, the fisherman’s neighbourhood, is one of the oldest and most picturesque neighbourhoods in the city. It covers the north-western foot of the Acronauplia, above Staikopoulos Street. It was already a settlement during the end of Nafplio’s Byzantine period at the start of the 13th century and was inhabited mainly by Greek merchants and fishermen; which is how it got its name. The Chapel of Aghia Sophia must have been constructed at around this time. During the difficult times of the second Turkish occupation, Psaromachalas was probably the only neighbourhood inside the city walls to continue to be occupied by Greeks; most of whom were fishermen and moored their boats in the quay below the bastion of Pente Adelphia. It was for this reason that from 1779 to 1780 the only church that the Turks allowed to operate inside the walls was Aghia Sophia. Today Psaromachalas is one of the most picturesque quarters of Nafplio’s old town. Climbing the characteristic steps, one can see houses from various periods, some renovated: some in ruins. From the highest road one can see a section of The Acronauplia walls. In what is now Psaromachalas Square there was once a very important hospital for the poor, the first in Greece, a bequest of the Florentine Duke of Athens, Nerio Acciaiuoli. With the exception of short intervals, the hospital had a long history of operation; from 1394 to the end of the 1940’s, when it was demolished. The only trace left of this important hospital is the Chapel of Aghii Apostoli, which was constructed by the Venetians and was originally located inside the hospital grounds.