copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
info@nafplio-tour.gr
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Palamidi
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
Bourtzi
The Arvanitia Promenade
Psaromachalas
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
Karathona
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space

Gialos Neighbourhood


If one heads west from Kapodistrias Square, one finds oneself in one of the central roads of the city, Amalias Avenue, which follows the line of the old northern wall, which was demolished between 1866 and 1868. On Amalias Avenue we also find the first Primary School, which was completed in 1931 and was built with donations from Ioannis and Anna Iatrou in memory of their daughter Eugenia Vrodamitou. Next door is the city’s Lyceum, which was built in 1935 to house the High School of the time. It was designed by Patroklos Karadinos and belongs to a group of school buildings called ‘the schools of the thirties’, which left their mark on the history of modern Greek architecture. On the site where the Lyceum stands there was once an arsenal, built by the Turks in the 18th century. The area bordered by Amalias Avenue and Bouboulinas Street, and which was outside the city’s northern wall, was the so-called ‘Gialos’ neighbourhood or ‘the Aigialos Suburb’, which was already being created by the use of artificial embankments from the time of the first Venetian occupation. We are informed by the literary historian Labrinidis that around the end of the 18th century, at the end of the second Turkish occupation, the land that extended from the Church of Aghios Nicholaos to the arsenal, in other words, the modern Lyceum, contained very few houses, but many shops and warehouses. The neighbourhood owes its modern form to urban planning carried out during the time of King Otto. The majority of houses in the Gialos neighbourhood were built between 1861 and 1920, and were in the neo-classical style. In this area, which now belongs to the parish of Aghios Nicholaos, there is the Folk Art museum of the Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation. Behind the primary school and the Lyceum there were the cities dockyards, which were protected throughout the 18th and 19th centuries by the Venetian bastion of Mocenigo, which was demolished in 1930. In the small Bouboulina Square, there is a bust of this brave captain, who was of great help during the siege of Nafplio in April 1821. Laskarina Bouboulina was resident in the city for about 2 years from 1822 to 1824, and she was rewarded with a house in this neighbourhood for her services during the struggle.