copyright 2007 municipality of Nafplio
info@nafplio-tour.gr
created by Tool Ltd
managed by Radiant S.A.
Περιήγηση στο Ναύπλιο
Virtual Tour of Nafplio
Tour Guidé ă Nauplie
Rundgang in Nauplia
Visita a Nauplio

Nauplion (general)
Old Town (general)
Pronia The Suburb
PandesChurch of Aghii The
The Lion of Bavaria
Funerary Monuments in the Nauplion Graveyard
The 'New Byzantium' Settlement
Theatre Studies Department of the University of the Peloponnese
National Gallery-Alexandros Soutzos Museum, Nauplion Annex
The Family Home of Nikos Karouzos
The OSE Park – The Municipal Odeon 'Konstantinos Nonis' – The 'Stathmos' Children’s Museum
Kolokotronis Park
Palamidi
Staikopoulos Park
The Land Gate
The Grimani Bastion
The Courthouse
Kapodistrias Square
The Armansperg Residence
The Acronauplia
The Three Admirals’ Square
Town Hall
The 'Megalos Dromos' (Great Road)
War Museum-Nauplion Annex
Metropolitan Church of Aghios Georgios
The Nauplian Progressive Association 'The Palamidis'
The Catholic Church of Metamorphosis Tou Sotiros (The Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Aghios Spyridon Square
The Church of Aghios Spyridon
The Church of Aghia Sophia
The Sagredo Gate
Syndagma Square
The Archaeological Museum
The Parliament Building
The Turkish Medrese / 'Leonardo Prison'
The 'Trianon'
Gialos Neighbourhood
Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation and Folk Art Museum Vassilios Papantoniou
The Nauplion Art Gallery
Nauplion Central Public Library 'The Palamidis'
The Church of Aghios Nikolaos
Philellinon Square
The Customs House
The Church of Panaghia
The Shore
The Bastion of 'Pende Adelphia'
Bourtzi
The Arvanitia Promenade
Psaromachalas
The Church of Aghios Anastasios
Karathona
The Monastery of Aghia Moni
Alpha Bank's Exhibition Space

The 'Trianon'


The building which is known today as the ‘Trianon’, from the name of the cinema which was housed here, is of special interest, as much for its architectural design as for its history. It is the oldest mosque still surviving in the city and was strongly influenced by Byzantine church architecture. It dates from the time of the first Turkish occupation, probably the second half of the 16th century, and is possibly the only building in the city to survive from that time. It differs from the great mosque in Syntagma Square, the Parliament, as in the latter the Ottoman style of architecture seems to have taken over. The old mosque is square and is topped with a semi-circular dome. The entrance was formed by a colonnade, covered by three small domes, but during a later stage of building, the colonnade was walled up, obviously to widen the interior. In time a section of the base of the building was buried. During the time of the second Venetian occupation, the mosque was used for Catholic worship, and has been identified, with some degree of certainty, with Saint Antonio of Padua. It was donated by the Venetian General-in-Chief Francesco Morosini to the Franciscan order in 1687, when the city was occupied by the Venetian Republic. From 1828 to the beginning of 1833, the ‘Allilodidaktiko Boys School’, was housed here: the name means that in this school teaching was carried out by the most competent students, the so-called ‘Protoscholoi’ or monitors. Later, at the end of the 19th century, the building was used as a theatre; while in 1915 the interior was remodelled, degrading to a certain extent its original appearance. For many years the ‘Trianon Cinema’ was here, while more recently the old mosque has housed the Nafplio Municipal Theatre.